From Student Life to the Professional Realm

Growing up, school was the foundation for education and an area for personal development through human interaction. School teaches kids how to tie their shoes, color within the lines, and write their names. We form valuable connections at a young age that serve us purpose through every stage of life. School has taught me valuable lessons on sharing, time management through deadlines and goals, and adaptability. As I grew older, school evolved from a place of learning to an escape from the pressures of everyday life.

Photo Credit: Ashley Walton

To give you a little background, I grew up in a small town, Apple River, in Northwest Illinois. Apple River has a population of 333 individuals and serves as a purpose for the Illinois Central Railroad. My village was quiet, with only a post office and a local gas station; the nearest Walmart was within 40 minutes. Growing up, I learned that information spreads like wildfire and quickly becomes the talk of the town. Every morning, my brother and I would walk to the bus stop and wait for the bus to pick us up. The bus became an essential part of our lives as it was our only way to school since our parents struggled to support us financially. As we aged, my brother and I became aware of the hardships my family was experiencing and noticed a shift in their parenting styles. Due to my parents’ work requirements to meet financial ends, they missed milestones and significant accomplishments.

I shifted my attention to extracurricular activities and student involvement when I entered high school. I played on the basketball, softball, and volleyball teams and was a member of the National Honors Society, Servant Leadership, and student council. I became an influential part of the Warren FFA Chapter and served in multiple positions on the Illinois section team. In high school, the school district hired a high school agriculture teacher. The agriculture teacher, Sydney Groen, was a young college graduate nervous about her new role. Mrs. Groen adapted quickly to the challenges of teaching class, organizing agriculture events, and renovating the greenhouse. Her bubbly personality encourages classroom conversation and a hands-on approach that makes learning fun. She and I share a special connection for our love of agriculture. We spent countless hours planning FFA week, attending CDEs, and finalizing my record book. She took on a motherly role in my life and a way to distract my mind from the hardships my family was experiencing.

Left to Right: Sydney Groen & Megan Hynek Photo Credits: Kelsie Johnson

As graduation approached, I was consumed with anxiety, knowing that school would soon end. At every family event, I was bombarded with questions about college and the “what’s next?” School was the only thing I knew growing up, providing structure and stability with life’s uncertainties. Witnessing my parent’s struggles in factory jobs fueled my determination to pursue a degree in higher education. While I was sure of attending college, being the first in my family to do so weighed heavily on my mind. I sought guidance from the agriculture teacher on what she would do in my position. She arranged a college tour at Western Illinois University, where I learned about the agriculture program and its opportunities. After attending the Seven Cooperative Principal Program at WIU, I enrolled as a Leatherneck. In the Summer of 2021, I was accepted into Western Illinois University as an undergraduate to pursue a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture and a minor in Community Forestry.

Seven Cooperative Principals at WIU in 2019 Photo Credits: Sydney Groen

Over the last three years at Western Illinois University, I’ve acquired vital knowledge to prepare me for adulthood. WIU has provided me with educational opportunities, hands-on experiences, and lifelong connections. Near the end of my journey at Western Illinois University, I grappled with familiar pressures, as I had experienced during my high school years. However, this pressure has intensified, as now I carry the weight of expectations associated with having an education that guarantees “success.” Throughout our lives, we’ve been conditioned to believe that education leads to professionalism. Yet, transitioning from a structured school routine to navigating the professional world brings immense pressure to prove oneself. Entering college, I thought I could escape the pressure, yet as graduation approaches, it becomes increasingly clear that they only intensify. After relying on education as an escape throughout my life, the expectation to have it all figured out feels particularly overwhelming.

The next step in life after college graduation is embarking on your career. I plan to work for a forestry company specializing in sustainable agriculture practices. In the future, I aspire to specialize in either tree injections or tree inventory. My experience at Western Illinois University has equipped me with valuable knowledge and skills necessary to excel. Through coursework, hands-on experience, and conversations with industry professionals, I have gained insight into sustainable agriculture practices, adapting to new challenges, and effective communication.

Meet the Author

My name is Megan Hynek, and I am a Senior at Western Illinois University with a major in Agriculture Science and a minor in Community Forestry. I am the vice president of the Forestry and Horticulture Club and serve as a Residential Assistant for Corbin/Olson. I am a Leatherneck Success Leader (LSL) and a co-advisor for the Transfer & First Generation Committee. As an LSL, I am committed to improving the success of other Leathernecks by enhancing academic skills and creating campus connections. On campus, I am a proud member of the Women Who Lifts and the Ag- Vocators club.

One thought on “From Student Life to the Professional Realm

  1. accole04780d2677

    What an impressive adventure you have been on so far. I can highly relate to the amount of anxiety you must’ve felt when wondering what your next step was. Also, you have managed so much in your academic career. I hope you are truly proud of yourself because that is a hard thing to do.

    Like

Leave a comment