Four Seasons of Farming

During the four seasons of farming – fall, winter, spring, and summer – different tasks have to be done on the farm. I myself enjoy Fall! There is always so much going on, no time to be bored or waste. For most, pumpkins, sweatshirts, and football come to mind. But for me, it is totally different. As a kid I always remember riding in the tractor with my dad, hauling grain to the elevator. Now I have worked at the elevator during harvest and have seen the other side.

Fall

 Late September to early December is the time where farmers get to see the reward of the growing season. Harvest starts in mid-September, and most do not understand all the work that goes into harvest. Making sure that all crops are dry is the most important. This is important for storage reasons. After crops are out many farmers have some kind of fall practices. Vandenberg Farms uses fall tillage as a practice. Ripping the corn and bean ground helps to create organic matter in the soil.

While working at the elevator, I gained a different perspective. Moving grain from one place to another can be dangerous. For example, one night we were drying corn, and the bin quickly became very full and corn came out the top of the bin! The next day was spent cleaning up all the mess! This was a big mistake and not all of it could be saved. I took the picture below, the morning after the grain spill.

img_1075

May we all get to see those fields of green turn gold

Winter

Early December to late February is now time for rest! After all the crops are out, farmers have time to fix machinery or other projects on the farm. We also purchase our inputs for the next planting season. My family takes the time to travel. As my grandparents get older they like to make a trip to the south and visit friends and family. This year they already have a trip planned for January to Hawaii.

Spring

Late March to late June is time to put the crops in the ground. Waiting for the ground to thaw out,and make sure there will not be another frost. The first pass of herbicides and pesticides are applied. Along with crops being planted, there always seems to be new baby kittens as well.

Summer

July to early September can be make or break for most farmers. After my dad plants both corn and soybeans, it is time to put on fertilizers and pesticides. I have also worked as a crop scout intern during the summer. I took great pride in helping my family and other farmers produce weed and pest-free fields. I also was responsible for checking the conditions of the fields. After checking the field conditions, I would report to my supervisor and let him know if fertilizer and herbicides can be applied. Weather is the hardest part of being a farmer. Rain is critical in these months but not too much! Too much rain can damage crops, but not enough rain can also damage crops. The perfect amount of rain, sunlight, and heat produces the best crops!

Seasonal Conclusion 

It’s hard to pick a favorite season, when they’re all so great in there own way! Season have always meant something different to me, and I wanted to share those with you.The many events that happen in the different season sometimes go misunderstood. That is why I am sharing, so more people are aware!

11870920_10203811385799237_8896531079088364045_nMy name is Haley Vandenberg, I call Farmington, Iowa, home where I live on our family farm. My dad, uncle, and grandpa, farm 2000 acres of corn and soybeans. As much as I want to go back to the farm, I’m not sure if there is enough for me to do. I am a transfer student from Southeastern Community College where I studied Agriculture Business Management. I have enjoyed my time here as a Leatherneck! I am in my senior year and it still has not hit me yet that I am almost done with school! Thank you for taking the time to read my blog!

14 thoughts on “Four Seasons of Farming

  1. Adam Brougher

    Hi Haley,

    Your blog post has helped me learn more about seasonal farming. I’ve been researching for my new job at Granular.
    Maybe online software like Granular will help you see how you’ll fit into the family business as part of the next generation of farming.

    Thanks again for the farming stories.

    Best,
    -Adam
    https://granular.ag/

    Like

    1. Fernando Martinez

      Hello. I read the entire thing and man I was surprised by what goes on in the farms. I’ve learned many things here. Thank you and I hope everything went well with your graduation

      Like

  2. Jim Bernier

    I grew up on a very small 7 acre property near Englewood, Ohio (just North of Dayton) where we basically farmed only for our own living. We tilled and planted about 3-4 acres and grew a large variety of crops. The ones that come to mind today are: carrots, peas, green (bell) peppers, radishes, broccoli, kohlrabi, cucumbers, tomatoes, zucchini, (brown and green) beans, corn, squash (two kinds), watermelon, cantaloupe (muskmelon), beets, lettuce, cauliflower, celery, cabbage, asparagus, brussels sprouts, potatoes, sweet potatoes, pumpkins, onions, rutabagas, dill, rhubarb, etc. If there was a seed, dad bought it on our annual trip ‘home’ to Minnesota. No, they couldn’t be Ohio seeds, they had to be Minnesota seeds! …

    This story will get much longer so I won’t bore you with it further. If you want it, send me a note to that affect at my address below. I think my eventual title will be, “Who ate my watermelon?”

    Like

  3. Whitney

    This post is appreciated. Im not a farmer so it didn’t speak farming too me but it spoke the sessions of life with great magnitude and clarity. Thank you

    Like

  4. alexislmeadows

    I love how you explained the seasons of farming. For some, it can be easy to guess what is happening during the spring and fall in the Midwest. However, between those seasons the work does not stop! Farmers always have work to do whether its working on equipment or figuring the inputs for the next year and every part is important. Vacation and family time is important as well!!

    Like

  5. Roy Snow

    Thanks Haley. Your post helped me write my sermon for my christmas eve message here in Ontario Canada, especially the part around rest and preparation during winter.

    Thanks.

    Roy

    Like

  6. Kyle Whitaker

    For a lot of people that are not involved in agriculture, they seem to be under the impression that a farmer only works a couple weeks out of the year. This helps non-ag people understand that the work doesn’t stop when the seed is in the ground and certainly doesn’t stop when the crop has been harvested. As for many farmers with livestock that is a whole new ballgame in being that there is never a day off no matter if its the weekend are bad weather, the work never stops.

    Like

  7. kirlinblake

    Haley, your article made me chuckle deep down when you mentioned that summer time is usually a break for most farmers, on our farm this is when we are the busiest baling hay! (Hahah). I think that this article has a lot of pride and admiration through out because it brings a sense of pride and respect to most people involved with agricultural on all the hard work that goes into production. Nice work!

    Like

  8. CherylBacon

    Hello, I had very little experience grown up helping with a garden, but it was nothing like farming. This information had helped me study for prayer during our monthly teaching on, Harvest Time.

    Thank you and may God continue to smile upon you,
    Cheryl

    Like

  9. Rocco Marinelli

    Being from a city of 200,000, I never knew so much time and energy was put into farming. I have a question if someone wants to answer. I now live in rural Penna in an area of 5,000 people. I would like to know if sounds I hear in the evening and well into the AM are farm machines? Started in August and is still heard in late November. Sounds like helicopters, combines, or haulers in the quiet night sky. Also, the noise kind of echoes thru the hills and valleys. I am not sure if its close to me or 5 – 10 miles away.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Before A Harvest: How Weather API Can Help Farmers During Growing Season - Aupedia

Leave a comment