What it Takes For Women to Lead in The Livestock Industry

Showing, raising, and evaluating livestock is a profession most people aren’t familiar with. Every day people in the industry get up early, work late, grind, and trench through the highest of highs and lowest of lows. No doubt it’s a male-prominent industry and we undoubtedly love our guys who work hard every day to do the unthinkable for their families and our industry! However, there’s a big part of my heart that wants to believe women can do it on the big stage too! So, with that, I got to talk to one of the most respected women in the industry who has changed the standard! Melissa Grimmel Schaake and her husband Shane live in Manhattan, KS. They own and operate Grimmel Schaake Cattle Company, a Herford and Simmental Cattle operation! They both take great pride in giving back to junior organizations to help shape the next generation of livestock enthusiasts! Along with that, she owns Melissa Photography & Design. Melissa assists others through photography and videography, innovative graphic design, and creative marketing services! I gave Melissa a script of questions for her to answer about our industry and how young women get to where they want to be within the industry, wherever that might be! 

Melissa and her husband Shane judging showmanship together at the 2023 Shorthorn Junior Nationals. (Abby at Cindy’s Livestock Photos)

Question 1: What do you think is the key to success for women in the livestock industry?

There’s no doubt that the livestock industry is male-dominated, but at the same time, I’ve learned that everyone appreciates passion, knowledge, and hard work – regardless if you’re male or female. I’ve never been one to think that I’m at a disadvantage because I’m a woman – maybe I don’t have the physical strength of a man, but I enjoy doing the tasks that most consider a man would do on the ranch – calving, breeding, syncing, mating selection, halter breaking, feed management, clipping, fitting, etc. I think it’s important for women to be who they want, to do what they want, and embrace the things they enjoy. One of my mottos is ” Be you, do you, for you”, and I believe there’s nothing better than being your true, authentic self.

I couldn’t agree more with this comment! At WIU Dr. Mark Hoge always tells us, that people lack passion. He says, if you get that one opportunity to do whatever you want, you better embrace every situation and do it as you’ll never be able to do it again! It doesn’t have to pertain to just evaluating livestock either, it could be any of the tasks Melissa mentioned. Success is defined in many ways by many different people. For me, I want more than anyone to be a well respected cattlewoman in the industry. Not only for my ability to market and evaluate cattle but for all the behind the scenes work as well.

Question 2: What does it mean to be an industry leader? 

I think a good industry leader influences others through passion, motivation, and inspiration. I feel like I have a unique story in terms of being raised on a grain farm, and am considered a first-generation cattlewoman and not stemming from a rich history of cattle in my family. I am always honoring my roots and do my best to inspire others with similar stories, constantly having in the back of my mind what it took for me to get to where I am in the industry today.

The answer to this question is my favorite in the whole interview. I always hear discussions along the lines of women will never be able to have the opportunity of men if they don’t come from a well-known cattle background or livestock background for that matter. There are so many women and men in this industry that I personally look up to specifically for their background and how they got to where they are today. It’s interesting to hear different women’s perspectives on this topic, but having a similar story further inspires me that with hard work and dedication my passions and dreams will also turn into a reality! 

Melissa fitting a hind leg. (Legacy Livestock Imaging)

Question 3: What did it mean to be named Herdsman of The Year in your respective breed?

This title has no doubt been a goal of mine for as long as I can remember, and something I did not think I would achieve before age 30. I was humbled just to be included within this year’s group of nominees – four men that I respect, admire, appreciate, and consider friends. It is rare for a female to win this title, so to receive this title validates my feelings that I’ve earned that respect as a cattlewoman within a breed that I love so well. I truly feel that earning this title is the pinnacle of my cattle career.

Perfect question to follow the previous one and such a motivating answer. Melissa was named Herdsman of The Year within the Herford breed, something she is incredibly passionate about. For her to come from the background she did and set an example for many young livestock enthusiasts at such a young age is absolutely incredible in my opinion! 

Question 4: If you could advise a younger person what would it be and why?

Just go for it. I’m the type of person who would rather try and fail than never try and always wonder “What if”. You have one life – I know doing things in this industry can be intimidating, especially with the influence of social media, but do not be afraid to try new things, to put yourself out there, or to reach out to those you look up to for advice and wisdom. 

Along with that, surround yourself with good people. Find those core people who want to help you succeed, who make you a better person, who value your dreams and ambitions, and who bring positivity to your life. I know that sounds simple, but throughout the years I’ve been blessed to meet some great humans who have helped me reach success, along with dealing with not-so-great humans and poor partnerships. I’ve learned a lot along the way, but some of my greatest achievements, greatest successes, and favorite memories involve those good people right next to me.

This interview has personally given me so much motivation to keep believing and working towards big aspirations. I’m not one to express my emotions or be big on social media, so writing this blog about something I believe in is beyond my comfort zone. I didn’t come from a strong cattle background and I didn’t always show the best stock. My family saw that I had a passion for this and they supported me as well as they could and I worked hard with what I had. It took one person to notice my hard work and give me an opportunity that absolutely changed my life. 

As a young woman who is extremely passionate and strong-willed about cattle, there’s so much I want to accomplish! I have had the privilege to surround myself with some of the biggest industry leaders and best people in the business! Those people are the ones who have supported me and continue to support me through my endeavors. While this interview was taking a step out of my comfort zone, I’m so glad I did. I got to see inside a very well-respected, passionate, and determined woman in this industry, someone I hope I can do and be half of! 

Meet the Author:

(Kamryn at Linde’s Livestock Photography)

Hi, my name is Mackenzie Neal and I’m a junior at Western Illinois University. I am getting a Bachelors in Agribusiness with a minor in Marketing! I am from Lewisburg, Ohio where we raise and show competitive show cattle. We also have two online sales a year where we market our cattle. I am extremely excited to finish my degree and take the next steps in life!

3 thoughts on “What it Takes For Women to Lead in The Livestock Industry

  1. p_pence

    Thank you Mackenzie and Melissa for speaking about the women in agriculture! I believe both of you have and will make impacting roles in our industry.

    Like

  2. saalsip

    Such a great read, Mackenzie! It’s refreshing to see that the industry is starting to find more favor for passion and work ethic regardless of gender.

    Like

  3. rdbrumbaugh

    Awesome job Mackenzie! Throughout your blog I could tell you have a deep drive and motivation to become like your idols and role models. I can tell you are very engaged and dedicated to your craft. Great job on your blog!

    Like

Leave a comment