Why do students need to go to career fairs?

wiu-uu

It is a little overwhelming when you go to your first career fair. I went to mine recently, on October 5, here at the WIU University Union.

Students definitely need to take advantage of career fairs at their universities. I cannot stress that enough. Employment may result from making an effort there! It’s always good to get your name out there as well.

When I went to the WIU University Union for the career fair, I had thought to myself that I would need to walk around and take a look at some of the booths before I decided to hand them my resume, but what happened was that as soon as I was in their vicinity they had already started a conversation with me. Before I knew it, I had given out all of the copies of my resume and I had only been there for an hour or so.

I know that it was worth my time, because I had, at the very least, gotten my name out there and I had also been able to exercise my social skills in a business-like setting.

As my father had said to me several times, “Get a job, get a better job, then get a career.” This past summer I was a crop scout, and it was a great learning experience, but I don’t think that it was a perfect fit for me. It was certainly something that would get me to where I want to be later in life.

gavilon-logo

Out of the five companies that I had given my resume to, one of them, Gavilon (logo above), had asked to interview me the next day. I talked to John Borchers, an Area Manager for Gavilon, about job opportunities and he talked to me about being an Operations Trainee or a Merchandising Trainee.

That next morning, I went to WIU’s Career Center for said interview with John Borchers. John seemed like the type of guy who knew how to build an strong, efficient team. He had an enthusiasm for his work that was easy for me to see. I was asked all of the normal resume questions that one is asked when they apply for a job. When it was my turn, I had asked about the salaries and benefits for employees.

After my interview with John, we talked about carpentry and other hobbies. At the very least, this whole experience was enlightening and an overall good experience.

profile-pic

My name is Jake Seckman. I am from Versailles, IL. I am a senior at WIU. My major is in Agriculture Business with a minor in Business Management. I have been in Marketing Club and Finance Club while enrolled here. If you have any questions, you may contact me at
jd-seckman@wiu.edu.

Leave a Reply

