Life of an Alum

mcqueenLindsay McQueen is a successful WIU alumnas that has made a respectful name for herself in the agricultural work force and the Illinois Farm Bureau. She is avid about getting the young and old in the community involved in agriculture and plans multiple events a year to do so. She is a great example of what WIU can do for you.

 

Where are you from and how did you become interested in agriculture?

I grew up on a grain farm near Alexander in rural Morgan County. I’ve always been involved and interested in Ag. I think it’s natural to be curious about something that is prevalent in everyday life. That stuck with me throughout high school and college as I considered a hundred possible majors.

Why did you choose WIU?

I applied to various colleges but ultimately picked WIU for a few reasons. It was close to home (1.5 hr) but not too close. I knew a couple older friends that went there and I heard it had a good Ag program…which turned out to be true!

What kind of groups or clubs did you participate in at WIU?

While at WIU I jumped into a handful of clubs. CFFA- because it felt like an easy progression from high school; Ag Business Club- because it was my major; Sigma Alpha- because it was a great way to meet girls with a common interests; Ag Mech Club- because I was intrigued and just went for it. It also allowed me to meet a whole new bunch of people that may not necessarily be in the other clubs. Finally, Alpha Zeta- because I luckily managed to snag good grades and joined while I still had the chance!

Tell me about what your role at the Farm Bureau?

Since graduation I have worked as a County Manager with Illinois Farm Bureau. In June 2014, I moved to Jacksonville to manage Cass – Morgan Farm Bureau. As county manager, I work to help farmers in my area by putting on various programs, educate others local issues, and communicate with the general public in various forums….along with a number of odd jobs! No day is the same.

What kind of big things can we expect to see from the Farm Bureau in 2016?

Farm Bureau will continue to be the top ag organization in the state. We are constantly working with legislators voicing our concerns and giving them insight from our perspective. We continue to fight WOTUS, issues with crop insurance, Section 179, and always educate the masses when possible. Get involved in Collegiate Farm Bureau or join your county Young Leaders program to learn more!

What does being a Leatherneck mean to you?

Being a Leatherneck means always being #1. We are the only Leatherneck- not many schools share our uniqueness. College gave me so many memories, friends, and connections. Your years in college are like nothing you’ll ever experience.

Do you have any advice for Freshmen WIU students?

Freshman- Get involved! Tear down walls, get out of your comfort zone, and meet people with different backgrounds from different parts of the state, country, and world. It’s okay to not declare a major yet, I think I changed my mind 4 times before graduating! Travel abroad if possible. As fun as college is with no parentals and all it has to offer, remember to stay true to yourself and at least locate the library so you can point it out when the parents do visit.

Do you have any advice for graduating Leathernecks?

Grads- Congrats, let it sink in…all you’ve done, how much you’ve grown (grown up even). Stay engaged. Keep posted on various WIU activities, go to Homecoming or other events. I hope you wake up every day loving your job. Don’t settle, you’re a Leatherneck for pete’s sake. Be a proud alum and hang that plaque!

My name is Brett Langley, I am a senior that will be graduating at the end of the 2015 fall semester. I am an agriculture major with a minor in agronomy. As I look back on the time I spent at WIU all I can say is, it is great to be a leatherneck.

Leave a Reply

